About CE Credits
Student Login
Forget password?
The ASC Learning website provides continuing education courses for ASC personnel. Courses have been developed to help meet the training needs of surgical staff, support staff, and facility management.

Continuing Education (CE) Credits: We recognize the need of many students to complete continuing education units in order to maintain their certification. As such, BSM Consulting has worked with key accrediting bodies to obtain accreditation for all courses available for surgical staff and management. CE credits are available for students who complete these courses by the following accrediting bodies:

  • American Nurses Credentialing Center/Nursing Continuing Education (ANCC)

  • Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (JCAHPO)

  • National Board for the Certification of Ophthalmic Executives (NBCOE)

An overview of these accrediting bodies is provided below, as well as information on certification and recertification requirements:

The ANCC is the world's largest nurse credentialing organization, and a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association (ANA). Working through the Arizona Nurses Association, an accredited ANCC approver, BSM Consulting has met the requirements for certain courses identified in the ASC Learning course catalogue to offer nursing contact hours. Therefore, the courses on this website identified as having nursing CE available may be used toward a nurse’s state continuing education requirements for maintaining licensure. Each state has different requirements and nurses must verify the continuing education requirements with their state licensing board. Nurses with ANCC certification may use courses on this site for Category 1 continuing education credits.

Below are the criteria for renewal from the ANCC website (click here to link):

  1. Hold a current, active registered nurse license in the United States or its territories.

  2. Meet the professional development requirements of your specialty.
  3. There are five categories of Professional Development. You must fulfill two of these categories, or double one of the categories, unless stated otherwise (refer to "Unique Certification Renewal Requirements" for exceptions).

    Category 1: Continuing Education Hours

    Category 2: Academic Credits

    Category 3: Presentations

    Category 4: Publication or Research

    Category 5: Preceptorship

  4. Either: Have 1,000 hours of nursing practice in the area of certification specialty, unless stated otherwise (refer to “Unique Certification Renewal Requirements” for exceptions).
  5. OR
    Retake and pass the certification examination. (You must pass your exam prior to your current expiration date to maintain uninterrupted certification.)

    Using Practice Hours to Complete the Certification Renewal Requirements
    Applicants for certification renewal who choose this option must complete 1,000 hours of practice during the five-year certification period. Nursing practice includes nursing administration, education, client care, and research related to the area of specialty certification

    Important Notes:
    1. If your state requires certification to practice as an advanced practice nurse (nurse practitioners and clinical nurse specialists), your state may no longer allow you to practice once your certification expires.
    2. Please submit your application for certification renewal at least two months before your certification expiration date.

JCAHPO is an international not-for-profit organization that certifies and provides educational opportunities for ophthalmic allied health professionals. JCAHPO certifies at four levels and in three specialty areas, as outlined below:

Levels of Certification:
  • Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA)
  • Certified Ophthalmic Technician (COT)
  • Certified Ophthalmic Medical Technologist (COMT)
  • Corporate Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA)
Specialty Areas of Certification:
  • Registered Ophthalmologic Ultrasound Biometrist (ROUB)
  • Certified Diagnostic Ophthalmic Sonographer (CDOS)
  • Ophthalmic Surgical Assisting

JCAHPO certification is valid for 36 months. This certification period begins in the month and year that one successfully completes all requirements for initial certification and continues for the next 36 months. More information on JCAHPO certification and recertification is available on the JCAHPO website.

JCAHPO-certified personnel are required to recertify every 36 months. To recertify, certificants must comply with continuing education (CE) requirements. The minimum number of CE credits required during each 36-month cycle varies according to credential, as noted below. All acceptable CE credits are classified as either Group A or Group B. Certificants who are applying for recertification may choose to either acquire all credits in Group A, or in a combination of Group A and Group B.

COA/CCOA, COT, and COMT Credits:

Number of Credits Required Per Each 36-Month Cycle:
Total Number of Credits Required
Minimum Number of Group A Credits Required
Maximum Number of Group B Credits Permitted


ROUB, CDOS, and Ophthalmic Surgical Assisting Credits:

Number of Credits Required Per Each 36-Month Cycle:
Total Number of Credits Required
Minimum Number of Group A Credits Required
Maximum Number of Group B Credits Permitted
Ophthalmic Surgical Assisting
Based on surgical cases where one actively participated. Requirements are 10 cases per 12-month period (30 cases per 36 months). See JCAHPO recertification guidelines for specific details.


The American Society of Ophthalmic Administrators developed a certification program specific to Ophthalmic Administrators in 1997. The NBCOE is the governing body for this program and is responsible for setting policy, developing procedures, and suggesting guidelines for the certification program.

To become a COE, applicants must meet eligibility criteria and then pass a certifying examination. Certification is valid for a period of three years, at which time the individual must recertify as a COE. To learn more about the COE program visit the ASOA website at www.asoa.org.

Continuing Proficiency Requirements

At the conclusion of each three-year cycle, COEs must be able to provide proof of at least 50 contact clock hours of continuing education acceptable to the NBCOE at its sole discretion. If COEs do not have the required continuing education hours, they may retake and pass the COE examination within 12 months of their certification expiration. Written proof of continuing education is required upon request by the NBCOE.

The recertification process requires that all certificants submit a signed list of their completed continuing education activities. NBCOE reserves the right to conduct random audits of COE certificants. Audited COEs will be required to submit copies of documentation verifying their required continuing educational activities.

Those who fail to recertify during the regular cycle are given up to three additional years to recertify using alternative criteria. This requires documentation of 68 hours of qualifying continuing education (50 + 18) for the first year; 84 hours during the second year (50 + 34) and 100 hours for the third year. There is an additional fee for recertifying outside of the regular cycle.

An individual who fails to recertify during the regular cycle may no longer use the COE credential. The credential may be reinstated after NBCOE receives all required documentation and fees or by the candidate successfully retaking the COE examination.